Douglas Shire: Your guide to voting in the Federal Election


Howard Salkow

Senior Journalist

Email Howard
Last updated:

Douglas Shire residents will have six candidates to choose from within the Leichhardt electorate when they go to the polls on Saturday, in what is expected to be a closely fought Federal election.

Warren Entsch, who has represented Leichhardt since 2010 will be up against five candidates: Jen Sackley (United Party Australia), Dan McCarthy (Katter Australia Party), Elida Faith (Labor), Chad Anderson (Independent) and Gary Oliver (Australian Greens).

Entsch, the sitting member, has campaigned on his experience, dedication and effectiveness and is not concerned if he upsets a few people in getting things done.

He has been the driving force behind a renewable energy micro grid for the Daintree and has been just as vocal on improving the ferry crossing.

He has advocated two options: the introduction of a second ferry; or the construction of a bridge across the river. “And we are not talking about another Sydney Harbour Bridge,” he has said.

The other candidates have campaigned on promoting the region, opening it up to greater opportunities and growing the area.  

Early polling is available from 8.30am until 5.30pm tomorrow at the Port Douglas Community Hall.

On Saturday, the polling booths open at 8.00am and close at 6.00pm.

Douglas Shire residents and visitors can vote at the following polling stations on Saturday:

Daintree: Daintree State School, 4-8 Dagmar Street

Diwan: Alexandra Bay State School, 1630 Cape Tribulation Road

Miallo: Miallo State School, Miallo Road

Mossman: Mossman State School, 30-34 Front Street

Port Douglas: Port Douglas Community Hall, 13-29 Mowbray Street

Wonga Beach: Wonga Beach State School, 48 Snapper Island Drive

Wujal Wujal: Wujal Wujal CDEP Centre, 1 Hartwig Street   

Join the conversation

Give a thumb up or thumb down on the subject we've covered OR

Place a comment below.

* Readers are encouraged to use their full details below to ensure comment legitimacy. Comments are the opinions of readers and do not represent the views of Newsport or its staff. Comments containing unlawful, obscene, defamatory, personal or abusive material will not be published.