Greater Sydney locked out of Queensland


Karlie Brady


Email Karlie
Last updated:
Queensland Premier Annastacia Palaszczuk.

All 34 local government areas making up the Greater Sydney area have been declared COVID-19 hotspots.

From 1:00am Saturday, people from Greater Sydney will not be allowed to enter the Sunshine State.

Queensland residents returning home will have to isolate in a hotel for 14 days at their own expense.

Premier Annastacia Palaszczuk made the announcement on Wednesday morning saying “we must protect Queenslanders”.

“We do not want a second wave here. We do not want widespread community transmission,” she said.

The news comes as a blow to the struggling tourism sector who less than a month ago had been rejoicing at the reopening of the Queensland border.

“This is going to have an impact on some of our tourism industry so we will be speaking with our tourism leaders, but as we know Queenslanders health comes first," the Premier said.

“We are in extraordinary times at the moment and we have to do everything we can."

The Premier said a decision on whether to close the border to the rest of New South Wales will come on the advice of the Queensland Chief Health Officer.

“We have been taking the Chief Health Officer’s advice every step of the way during this pandemic and it has stood Queensland in very good stead," she said.

“So, when the Chief Health Officer advises the Queensland Government to close the border, we will close the border.

“We are monitoring the situation in New South Wales every single day.

“The signs that we will be looking for is further outbreaks of community transmission in areas outside of Greater Sydney.”

The news comes after two 19-year-old Queensland women tested positive after returning from Victoria via Sydney prompting an urgent health alert for the Logan and Springfield Lakes regions in South East Queensland.

A police investigation is underway as to why the pair were not in quarantine. It is believed they gave false details on their border declarations.

Local government areas declared COVID-19 hotspots

• Bayside
• Blacktown City
• Blue Mountains City
• Burwood
• Camden
• Campbelltown City
• Canada Bay City
• Canterbury-Bankstown
• Central Coast
• Cumberland
• Fairfield City
• Georges River
• Hawkesbury City
• Hornsby Shire
• Hunter’s Hill Municipality
• Inner West
• Ku-ring-gai
• Lane Cove Municipality
• Liverpool City
• Mosman Municipality
• North Sydney
• Northern Beaches
• Parramatta City
• Penrith City
• Randwick City
• Ryde City
• Strathfield Municipality
• Sutherland Shire
• Sydney City
• The Hills Shire
• Waverley
• Willoughby City
• Wollondilly Shire
• Woollahra City

And the entire state of Victoria.

Submit a letter to the editor here.

* Readers are encouraged to use their full details to ensure letter legitimacy.

Send news tips and videos here

* Comments are the opinions of readers and do not represent the views of Newsport, its staff or affiliates. Reader comments on Newsport are moderated before publication to promote valuable, civil, and healthy community debate. Visit our comment guidelines if your comment has not been approved for publication.