Award recipients honoured at Douglas’ first NAIDOC Gala


Karlie Brady


Email Karlie
Like undecided Liked Like disabled
Dislike Dislike undecided Dislike disabled
Last updated:
All things First Nations' cultures were celebrated at the Douglas Shire’s first-ever NAIDOC Gala and Awards Evening. Image: Rainemaker Media.
Like undecided Liked Like disabled
Dislike undecided Disliked Dislike disabled

The Douglas Shire’s first-ever NAIDOC Gala and Awards Evening was held on Friday and have been hailed a roaring success with several dedicated community members honoured on the night.

The awards night was organised by the newly formed Douglas Shire Indigenous Events Committee who also put on a jam-packed week of events preceding the Gala for Douglas Shire’s NAIDOC Week 2021.

Indigenous Events Committee member Kirsty Burchill said the event went even better than expected.

“It was an absolute success. The night created self-love, empowerment and really highlighted the hard-working people in our community,” she said.

120 guests donned their finest for the sold-out event hosted at the Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort Port Douglas.

Ms Burchill said she was blown away by the generosity of the community and the event sponsors who made the night possible.

“The generosity of Steve Molnar and his team at the Sheraton Mirage not only saw the Event venue funded but also, which was only told to me on the night, that the cost of food and beverage would be covered by the Sheraton also.

“Microhire, Sheraton Mirage and Indigenous Capital Limited were our biggest sponsors of the night.”

Award winners at the Douglas Shire NAIDOC Gala

Lifetime Achievement Award: Bennett Walker

Deadly Role Model of the Year (Dinkarr): Joint winners - Richard Burchill and Juan Walker

Deadly Role Model of the Year (Jalbu Jalbu): Roberta Henning

(Female) Jalbu Jalbu Elder of the Year: Janice Walker

(Male) Dinkarr Elder of the Year: Roy Gibson

Healing Bubu (Country) Award/Caring for Country: Saisha Schonenberger

Deadly Artist of the year: Joint winners - Lenice Schonenberger and Vanessa Cannon

Academic of the Year: Kathy Williams

Deadly Sportsperson of the Year: Bronson Ryan Jnr

Advocate of the Year (non-indigenous): Roy Zammataro

Indigenous Business of the Year: Walker Homes & Construction

GALLERY | Take a look at the Gala action below:

Thank you!

Newsport thanks its advertising partners for their support in the delivery of daily community news to the Douglas Shire. Public interest journalism is a fundamental part of every community.

Got a news tip? Let us know! Send your news tips or submit a letter to the editor here.

* Comments are the opinions of readers and do not represent the views of Newsport, its staff or affiliates. Reader comments on Newsport are moderated before publication to promote valuable, civil, and healthy community debate. Visit our comment guidelines if your comment has not been approved for publication.