Who’s up for an Australia Day award in the Douglas Shire?


Karlie Brady


Email Karlie
Like undecided Liked Like disabled
Dislike Dislike undecided Dislike disabled
Last updated:

Extraordinary Douglas Shire citizens will be recognised for their achievements and commitment to the region during Tuesday’s 2021 Australia Day awards at the Port Douglas Community Hall.

Twenty-four locals have been nominated across seven categories recognising those who have gone above and beyond in the past year.


  • Geoff Goodwin – for his contribution to the community and the Mossman Golf Club
  • Pauline Halsall – for her contribution to the community and Animal Welfare
  • Craig Mitchell – for his contribution to community sports
  • Rose Watts – for her contribution to our artistic and cultural community
  • Noel Weare – Volunteer Award and Arts & Culture for his contribution to Culture and the local community.
  • Raine Ward – for her contribution to our arts and design community
  • Juan Walker – for his contributions to education, language and culture for the community
  • Caitlin O’ Neil – for her contributions to the education and the environment
  • Alyssa Jackson – for her contributions to the education and the environment
  • Bob Perry – for his contributions to protecting the environment
  • Clint Reynolds – for his contributions to agriculture, innovation and protecting the environment
  • Margie Welham – for her contributions to the environment through promoting sustainability and recycling
  • Couper Smith – for his sporting achievements in golf.
  • Jack Sampson – for his sporting achievements and commitment to Surf Life Saving.
  • Chris Bradsworth – for his commitment and achievements in AFL Football and the Community.
  • Jack Murday – for his sporting achievements in Rugby Union
  • Joshua Lea – for his sporting achievements in AFL Football
  • Angela Brischetto – for her contributions to the performing arts community
  • Julia Leu - for her many and varied contributions to the community
  • Paul Makin – for his contributions to broadcasting, fundraising and the community
  • Sheena Walshaw – for her contributions to tourism, local business and the community
  • Meave Pedemay – for her contributions to health, recreation and the community
  • Maria Atkinson – for her contributions to charity, health and the community
  • Ashleigh Whyte – for her contributions to youth, health and the community

The awards will follow a citizenship ceremony which will officially welcome 28 new citizens from New Zealand, France, Thailand, Germany, Italy, India, Sweden, Finland, Russia, Hungary and the United Kingdom.

Due to COVID-19 restrictions, both events will be restricted to award winners, new citizens and their families and friends.

The Port Douglas Neighbourhood Centre will also cook a free barbecue breakfast from 7.30am to kick off the day.

Douglas Shire Mayor Michael Kerr said the free breakfast was a chance for the general public to grab a coffee and breakfast while saying hi to our local champions.

“Although we will have restricted ceremonies due to the COVID-19 pandemic, we still have a fantastic opportunity to come together as a community to celebrate our local champions and welcome our new Aussies,” he said.

“Those vying for Australia Day Awards are truly amazing people who deserve to be recognised for their service to the community.”

Key Times:

  • 7:30am Free BBQ Breakfast
  • 9:30am Citizenship Ceremony
  • 11 am Australia Day Awards

Thank you!

Newsport thanks its advertising partners for their support in the delivery of daily community news to the Douglas Shire. Public interest journalism is a fundamental part of every community.

Got a news tip? Let us know! Send your news tips or submit a letter to the editor here.

* Comments are the opinions of readers and do not represent the views of Newsport, its staff or affiliates. Reader comments on Newsport are moderated before publication to promote valuable, civil, and healthy community debate. Visit our comment guidelines if your comment has not been approved for publication.