Unlimited entry to the Daintree Rainforest

Douglas Card enticement


Like undecided Liked Like disabled
Dislike Dislike undecided Dislike disabled
Last updated:
The Douglas Card entitles you to free entry to the Daintree Rainforest and Mossman Gorge. Image: Newsport
Like undecided Liked Like disabled
Dislike undecided Disliked Dislike disabled

A campaign to attract Far North Queenslanders to the Daintree Rainforest before state borders re-open is underway.

And Douglas Shire Council and Tourism Port Douglas Daintree (TPDD) are re-igniting the regional push to holiday in the Daintree Rainforest this summer.

FNQ locals can ‘Do It In Douglas’ for free over the next four months by getting their Douglas Card, which unlocks unlimited free Daintree Ferry trips and free entry to the Mossman Gorge.

TPDD Chief Executive Officer Tara Bennett said regional visitors had a window to explore Douglas Shire before borders fully re-open to southern tourists in December.

“Disconnect from the outside world and reconnect with mother nature by immersing yourself in the Daintree Rainforest,” she said.

“Now is the best time to hit the road and explore your own back yard before borders fully re-open next month.

“Grab your Douglas Card to see the incredible wildlife and pristine landscapes that encompass two World Heritage sites.”

Local is classed as residents from Cardwell to Cooktown, including the Atherton Tablelands.
Douglas cardholders aren’t required to pay the usual return ferry fee of $39 until February 29 next year. Council has issued more than 6000 cards since the promotion started in 2014.

The cable-powered ferry near the end of the Daintree River is the continuation of the Great Barrier Reef Drive, a 140km long road, which stretches the coastline from the Northern Beaches of Cairns through to Cape Tribulation.

How Do I Get A Douglas Card?

You have two options:

  • Download the form from Council’s website, fill it out and email it to [email protected], or post it to Council’s Mossman Administration Building.
  • Attend Council’s Mossman Administration Building during business hours and speak to one of our friendly staff.

Douglas Shire Council offers the Douglas Card to locals residing in Douglas Shire Council, Mareeba Shire Council, Cairns Regional Council, Yarrabah Aboriginal Shire Council, Tablelands Regional Council, Cook Shire Council, Wujal Wujal Aboriginal Shire Council, Hope Vale Aboriginal Shire Council and Cassowary Coast Regional Council.

Use of the Douglas Card on the Daintree Ferry is restricted to fare categories Motor Car and Utilities (private use), Pedestrians and Bicycles and Motor Bikes.

To obtain a free Douglas Card, applicants need to provide photographic identification and additional proof of residency with their application to confirm local status at any one of the above local government areas.


Thank you!

Newsport thanks its advertising partners for their support in the delivery of daily community news to the Douglas Shire. Public interest journalism is a fundamental part of every community.

Got a news tip? Let us know! Send your news tips or submit a letter to the editor here.

* Comments are the opinions of readers and do not represent the views of Newsport, its staff or affiliates. Reader comments on Newsport are moderated before publication to promote valuable, civil, and healthy community debate. Visit our comment guidelines if your comment has not been approved for publication.